Vlogging?!

I have toyed with the idea of doing a Video blog, cause ya know I’m so awesome at keeping this one updated 😛 LOL

 

But seriously, I’m going to try it to see if I can keep it updated a bit better than this one. Another reason, and one of the main reasons I have considered the idea is because I’m a huge family history nerd. I love Genealogy, and spend a great deal of my free time working on completing the work left of my own family’s history. As I have been working on it, I have found several journal entries made by other people about a particular ancestor that I kept hitting a wall with. I searched info for her for soooooo long! And there she was. In someones journal. She was a member of the Martin Hancart Company that left too late in the year and ended up facing numerous trials and tragedies as they crossed the plains to Utah. You can read more about her in this LDS Article Or by reading This Blog. She was super hard for me to find, and I was so grateful when I found the journal entries that spoke of her and her family. It’s amazing to find an account that has been written about another person, especially when it’s someone in your family tree! Anyway, that got me thinking, and I started keeping a written journal for the generations to come in my own family. My blog has been that sort of thing for a very long time, but for them to have my handwriting would be great, so I went for it. I have been good about keeping it updated when important things happen, but I’m not so great at finding a reason to write in it when there isn’t anything that seems monumental. I personally like to read the written accounts of the day-to-day life of people back in the pioneer time period, and earlier, but I have a hard time making myself write those things. Kind of funny.

Anyway, I have been thinking of vlogging simply because it will offer my future family the opportunity to see me and hear me. That is the kind of connection we simply don’t get to have with our posterity. I would like to have that connection preserved. And anyone of you that know me well know that once I get chattering about something I don’t really stop. So I’m thinking that vlogging may be a good answer to that problem. I have a youtube account (with random videos, gaming and kids doing stuff, pay no mind…) and if you would like to come sit in on me talking about random junk I would love to have you. If you have suggestions for topics, or a question that would be awesome and I would love to address those. Just leave me a comment and let me know! I won’t be recording the first video until probably tomorrow, which means I should have it uploaded tomorrow night. Come visit me and let me know your thoughts! My Youtube channel is Pickle6415, and I hope to see you there!

 

 

Leave a Reply

